本月英国历史 - 七月

1981年7月17日

Humber_bridge

亨伯桥在英国女王的见证下正式开通

亨伯河口大桥,是世界上最长的单跨建筑物,由女王正式开幕。亨伯桥全长2220米,这个纪录维持了17年,一直到日本本州岛和四国岛连结的桥建立完成才被取代。 480,000顿的混凝土和11,000顿的纲丝共有43,000英里长,纲丝足以绕过地球一圈半。 亨伯河位於英格兰的东北部。

1985年7月28日

Finger_print

指纹鉴定身分

指纹鉴定开始的目的是最为识别身分,由威廉·詹姆斯·赫歇尔首先发现,他後来也建造了指纹扫瞄器。 赫歇尔是居住在印度的英国官员,他拥有当地居民指纹的法律文件,当时的想法是为了阻止身体接触文件而造成弊案的庄严仪式。 他很快就意识到,指纹识别可以用在刑事和民事上来确认被告者的身份。亨利·福尔兹医生是第一位用指纹破案的人。

1588年7月29日

Armada

西班牙的无敌舰队在这天被英国舰队击败

无敌舰队由131艘舰艇和17,000名士兵组成。舰队本应该绕到法国去接另外16,000士兵,再去入侵英格兰。当船停靠在法国时,英国海军领导人德瑞克派火船把无敌战舰系住,使得他们陷入恐慌而航行到英国航道。 残馀的无敌舰队逃往北部重新整队,不过却在爱尔兰和苏格兰的海岸被暴风雨摧毁。无敌舰队失去了67艘船和20,000名士兵,而英格兰则损失了100名士兵。

1978年7月25日

Testtube_baby

世界上第一位试管婴儿,出生於英国

露薏丝·布朗,出生於英国奥海姆医院。她是全球第一位试管婴儿。因为露薏丝的妈妈无法受孕。 这项成功的技术是由妇科医生"派屈克·斯特普托"和两位剑桥医生"罗伯特·爱德华兹"丶"巴里·巴维斯特"一起合作完成的。他们开发出一种技术,从女性的卵巢取出卵子在试管中受精,受精後再放回女性子宫。

伟大的出生

Peter_rabbit

碧雅翠丝·波特 - 生於1866年7月28日

碧雅翠丝·波特出生於伦敦,但是的她故事灵感都来自於早年和家人一起去乡村渡假时的经验。 彼得兔的故事从1902年开始,共发行了25,000本故事书。从此之後,彼得兔已经成为世界上最受喜爱的儿童文学之一,至今超过一百年。 此书籍在世界上已售出一亿份,并被翻译成超过30种不同的语言。 彼得兔故事书也因为碧雅翠丝画的高品质彩色插图而出名。

名人之死

Wilberforce

威廉·威伯福斯 - 逝世於1833年7月29日

威廉·威伯福斯,废除奴隶制度法案的主义者,享年74岁。威廉於1759年出生在赫尔,爸爸为当地的富商。他毕业於剑桥大学。之後从政,成为英国下议院的保守党员。 他在1784年开始提出废除奴隶买卖,不过他第一次的法案在1791年失败。但威廉并没有放弃,他的法案终於在1807年通过。在1833年,大英帝国彻底废除奴隶制度之後的一个月,威廉逝世。 在1865年,英国废除奴隶後32年後,林肯总统解放了美国奴隶。
Small_rounded_find_a_course
新闻
2015-06-10 麻州大学达特茅斯分校与洛威尔分校发布12,000美元的奖学金
2015-06-05 皇家哈洛唯学院的产业专业硕士课程
2015-06-03 《卫报》公布2016年英国大学排名评鉴
2015-05-11 进入全球排名前15大的数学系就读
2015-05-07 2016年完整大学指南排名出炉
更多讯息…
Window on UK Culture - 另类的观光景点
夏天到来 ! 这是旅行最好的时机!
This Month in UK History - 七月
西班牙的无敌舰队在400年前的这个月被击败
学校代表来访
更多讯息…
奖学金
更多讯息…
成功案例
更多讯息…

This Month in UK History - July

17 July 1981

Humber_bridge

Humber Bridge opened by the Queen

The Humber Estuary Bridge, the world's longest single-span structure, was officially opened by the Queen. The Humber Bridge at 2220 metres long held this record for 17 years until the Honshu-Shikoku Bridge was built in Japan.

480,000 tonnes of concrete were used and 11,000 tonnes of steel wire, 43,000 miles if put end to end, enough to go around the world 1.5 times. The River Humber Estuary is in north east England.
 

28 July 1858

Finger_print

Fingerprints first used as a means of identification

Fingerprints were first used as a means of identification by William Herschel, who later established a fingerprint register. Herschel was a British official living in India where he had the locals place their finger prints on legal documents. The idea was that the solemn ceremony of physically touching the document would deter cheating. He realized quickly that fingerprinting could be used as a method of identification for both criminal and civil affairs. Doctor Henry Faulds was the first man to solve a crime using finger prints at around the same time in Japan.

29 July 1588

Armada

The Spanish Armada was defeated by the English fleet off Plymouth

The Armada consisted of 131 ships and 17, 000 men. It was supposed to pick up a further 16,000 men in France to invade England.

When the Armada docked in France, Drake sent fire ships into the anchored Spanish ships panicking them into sailing into the English Channel. There the English, with smaller, faster ships, were able to pick them off. The remnants of the Armada fled north to regroup but were destroyed in a storm off the Irish and Scottish coasts. 67 ships and 20,000 men were lost, England lost no ships and only 100 men.

25 July 1978

Testtube_baby

The first test-tube baby in Britain was born

The first test-tube baby in Britain was born - Louise Joy Brown, at Oldham General Hospital, Lancashire. Her mother had been told that she would never be able to bear a child.

The successful birth was a result of collaboration between gynecologist Patrick Steptoe and two Cambridge doctors, Roberts Edwards and Barry Bavister. They developed a technique by which an egg taken from a women’s ovary could be fertilized in a test-tube and then returned to the womb to grow.

Famous Birth

Peter_rabbit

28 July 1866 - Beatrix Potter

Beatrix Potter was born in London but her stories were inspired by her visits to the country with the family from an early age. The Tale of Peter Rabbit first appeared in 1902 with 25,000 copies printed.  Since then the World of Beatrix Potter has become some of the most loved children's literature in the world and has been so for over one hundred years.  The books have sold over one hundred million copies world wide and have been translated into over 30 different languages. The books are reknowned for their quailty colour illustrations which were all done by Beatrix Potter.

Famous Death

Wilberforce

29 July 1833 - William Wilberforce

William Wilberforce, slavery abolitionist dies aged 74. Born in Hull in 1759, a wealthy merchant's son, Wilberforce went to Cambridge University. On graduation he was elected to the House of Commons as a Tory. He started campaigning for the abolition of the slave trade in 1784 but his first bill was easily defeated in 1791. Not easily beaten his bill was finally passed in 1807. The total abolition of slavery in the British Empire, not just the trade, came in 1833, a month after his death. It was another 32 years before Abraham Lincoln freed all slaves in the United States of America in 1865.

Small_rounded_find_a_course
News
2017-06-27 Bachelors of Medicine and Bachelors of Surgery at the University of Adelaide
2017-05-18 New 2018 UK University League Tables Published.
2017-02-16 BU graduates continue Oscar tradition
2016-12-10 Nottingham Trent is the UK's Greenest University
2016-11-05 Last Call for January 2017 start at Le Cordon Bleu - Paris
more…
Window on UK Culture - Alternative Places to Go!
Its Summer! A great time to go travelling!
This Month in UK History - July
The Spanish Armada defeated over 400 years ago this month
Visits
more…
Scholarships
50% of fees 2017 Executive Dean's MBA Scholarship
50% of fees 2017 Executive Dean's Scholarship
2,500 2017 Academic Excellence Scholarship (International)
3000 2017 International Excellence Scholarship
500 2017 Merit Scholarship
more…
Student Offers
Hsu,Wei-Ting Cardiff University
Chiu ,Chiao-Chu University of Newcastle
Chiu ,Chiao-Chu University of Liverpool
Hsu ,Wei-Ting University of Leicester
Sung,Chi-Min Bournemouth University
more…